A reflection on life from someone who is more pessimistic than I

Here is the first paragraph of an intro I wrote for a novel (or a novella. Or a short story. Or uncompleted trash).This is from the perspective of the narrator, who is a maid for some aristocratic girl. These two live in a house that seems to run itself (including cooking the food) while the aristocrat falls in love with a boy, makes him live with her, before catching him doing something she doesn’t like and torturing him to either insanity or death. In short, it’s a better (don’t you love my ego?), more gothic version of Taylor Swift’s Blank Space (Got a lot of Starbucks lovers – Oops, ex- lovers).

There. I’ve said it. I write stories based on songs.

Okay, I’ll shut up now, and let you read.


I think we have storms for a reason. I think God, or Whoever is up there, sends them to tell us about how our lives are going. The brooding clouds are our typical, mundane lives, the endless rain is the sadness that comes from broken dreams, and the thunder is the anger we feel about things we can’t change. But then lightning flashes, and we have light, hope and excitement. Until, a split second later, everything goes back to the way it was. Only it’s worse.


I’m so proud of myself: I pasted this into Grammarly and it came up as perfect! No grammatical errors!
Now excuse me while I go get a chocolate biscuit to celebrate and waste 90 minutes of my life watching the best television show ever- Midsomer Murders.

Until next time,

-The Empress

About empressofbooks

I'm a girl whose first love is writing, followed by reading. My other passions include playing trumpet in my school bands, eating, playing cello in my school orchestra, eating, school, eating, English lessons, eating, procrastinating during French, eating, music lessons, eating, sleep, eating, coffee, and did I mention eating? Oh, and don't you dare forget my love for Midsomer Murders... And eating. So join me, my loyal followers, in all things literate, musical and, most importantly, tasty! View all posts by empressofbooks

Leave a Reply

